Salma

Jewellery

Dhaka

My name is Salma. I have been working with Basha for five years. I have seen some important changes in my life. My son has become so much more active and this keeps me very busy. I like the office time 8:30am – 5:00 pm. No overtime. After work I can give time to my family. My son is eight years old now. He is learning English and practicing it. He has fun with this. My dream is that I will build my own house and I will decorate it. I want to help my boy to continue to study well and I hope he will be a good boy in the future. If I see any woman who needs a job, then I suggest she come to (Basha’s partner organization) Children’s Uplift Programme (CUP). I brought one woman and she used to do work from here, but now she is living far away from this office and is working at a garments factory. I have good relationships with other people and with my family members. My husband supports me to do this job. He supports me to be happy emotionally. My parents help me to raise my son well. I make jewellery. I make different kinds of new products. It is so fun to learn to make new items. I feel it is hard to make Half Moon Earrings; it is hard to make and to fix all the sides properly, but I have now learned. I will make them after a few days. I like to make all products. I finish any product within the selected time. I help others, especially new producers, to do their products and I teach them to learn new things. I feel proud to do all products. Whatever task I am given by my supervisor, I am happy to do it and do it nicely. I am proud of this.

The Artisans of Basha